EU-8 member states get free movement from 1 May 2011

As of 1 May 2011, there are no longer special restrictions on the free movement of citizens of the 2004 “new EU member states”: Malta, Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary

e.g. A citizen of Poland can freely move to any of the other 27 EU member states to work or study.   They can get in their car, drive to Germany, find a job and start working – all without having to ask anyone for permission.   A valid Polish passport or ID card is all that is needed.

This free movement right also applies to their accompanying EU and non-EU family members.

There remain restrictions on free movement for citizens of Romania and Bulgaria, which can last only until January 2014.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: